kriadydragon: (Shep icon)
I finally got to catch a few episodes of Dr. Who, season one. Just an hour ago, I finished watching the season finale of season four (no spoilers, I promise;)).

I love seeing how a show has progressed over the seasons - the acting, the stories, the quality of the picture, even the music. I can't remember the names of the season one Dr. Who episodes I watched, but they didn't give me the same chills and thrills that the later seasons of Dr. Who did (most especially the season four finale.) I know it takes a while for a show to, I suppose you could say, fit into its own skin, find itself, figure out who and what it is. And that, most of the time you don't really see the change until you go back and watch a few reruns. I've seen shows evolve into something awesome, and shows that, at first, seem to evolve only to de-evolve. In some cases, the show itself seems to stay the same - the plot, the stories, even the music - but its the characters that change.

Character change I love best of all, especially the subtle changes. For example, and using SGA, the way Sheppard becomes a little darker, a little more serious, not quite the free-spirit that he was in season one (which, really, kind of made me sad for him, that life in Pegasus was hardening him so. But it was a good kind of sad because, at the same time, he'd found a place that he could call home and people he thinks of as family. So it's all kind of good :D)

On the flip side, it makes me a little sad when a show starts going in a direction that starts dissolving my love for that show - making me miss the good-old-days of the earlier seasons. This rarely happens to me, but it does happen. For example, I've recently lost interest in Numbers. I still watch it from time to time but it's no longer a show I look forward to as much as I used to. CSI New York, one of the few remaining "have to see" shows on my very short list, may be heading in such a direction. It hasn't yet, but I can feel it happening and honmestly hope it doesn't.

And that's all I have to say on the matter, unless I can think of something else ;)

Date: 2009-03-14 03:27 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] tringasolitaria.livejournal.com
I've thought I might go back and watch S1 again, after finishing S1. There were a few episodes that season I remember as epic (mostly the finale and the London WW2 eps), but most of them - yeah, not so good. It's interesting - I loved Chris Eccleston as the Doctor though. And I wasn't really thrilled about moving on to the David Tennant seasons. But now, I can't imagine anyone else as the Doctor. :)

I've missed the last couple of episodes of Numb3rs, but I'm not as involved in it as I used to be. It used to be all about Don and Charlie and Alan for me, and now I find myself not really caring about them so much. I do still love David and Colby though - so I keep watching for them, for now. :)

CSI NY - I'm waiting to see how the season ends up before deciding whether I continue with it next year. :)

Date: 2009-03-14 03:41 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] kriadydragon.livejournal.com
Well, I think I'm a bit biased, because I started with season two of Who and just now only saw season one, so my impression is a bit tainted. Chris Eccleston does a good Doctor, but I thought him a bit blah. Except I would think that because, well, I'm used to David's more energetic Doctor.

I just got bored with Numbers. I like David but I'm not really a Colby fan, and most of the episodes felt too much like the David and Colby show, when I wanted more Don and Charlie (and less Don and his relationships/sleeping with everyone.)

CSI:NY, I really don't want to lose interest in this show, but I feel myself starting to. My hope is that next season they'll be a little more on the ball and make things more interesting. This season has been feeling a tad dull and I don't look forward to the show like I used to.



Date: 2009-03-17 09:30 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] flingslass.livejournal.com
New loves are Leverage, Chuck and Castle. (I LOVE Nathan Fillion.) I've also started watching CSI (The original) I think that Laurence Fishbourne has fit in perfectly. I'm going off CSI Miami, Horatio, you do not make the laws.

Still loving NCIS, Numb3rs (mostly with Larry and Dad) and Criminal Minds.

Profile

kriadydragon: (Default)
kriadydragon

July 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 12:59 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios