kriadydragon: (Shep 2)
Apologies for all the post-spams. Last one, I promise, and short.

I hate it when people put things in stories - either in an attempt to be funny, different, "shocking" or... something - that not only completely fails at its intent (what ever its intent) but totally ruins what could have been a cute, or angsty, or sweet, or dark, or funny - or whatever it was meant to be - story.

Last one, I promise

Date: 2009-03-13 11:47 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] black-raven135.livejournal.com
((((LOL))))
You are really on a roll today...........
BUT in reply to your comment, it is what I hate
about so many stories...
There are often a lot of things
thrown in without thought of how they will affect
the storyline, and 9x out of 10 they are often anything but helpful.........
AND while we are talking about storyline, I fail to
understand why sometimes an inordinate amount of time is spent on character development which does nothing to advance
the story
I feel like I am being beat over the head.....
Finally, speaking of being beat over the head, it annoys
me when an author tries to explain something to me which
is quite obvious.

Re: Last one, I promise

Date: 2009-03-14 12:15 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] kriadydragon.livejournal.com
Well, I posted this right after I finished reading a story that had started out as something cute, then... Well, let's just say it was like reading a kids book then tripping and stumbling into the start of something porny. And the transition was like a kick to the head.

The thing about stories is that there are things we "want" to happen, but in the end it's not about what we, the author, want but about what the story needs. As much as I enjoy a bit of indulgence, I'm happiest when I have to set a few desires aside to make that indulgence a good read. A good read is something I can be proud of and that many other people can enjoy. Pure indulgence is only good in the moment, then ends up being an embarrasment later on.

"AND while we are talking about storyline, I fail to
understand why sometimes an inordinate amount of time is spent on character development which does nothing to advance
the story"

My writing motto is: "If it doesn't advance the plot, then don't put it in." My second is: "Think before you write."

"it annoys
me when an author tries to explain something to me which
is quite obvious."

Oi, this drives me nuts, especially in humor stories. I hate it when writers feel the need to explain a joke, or give a short synopsis when it comes to pupl-culture references (Ex. someone makes a joke concerning the movie Jaws, then kills the humor by explaining both the joke and the movie.) Humor is at its best when it's short and snappy. Tell the joke, make the funny reference, whatever, then move on. Either the reader gets it or doesn't, but at least you won't lose them to pointless explanations that do nothing for the plot.

Date: 2009-03-14 07:28 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] ninja007.livejournal.com
What have you been reading???

Wait....

No. Don't tell me. If you hated it, so would I...

Date: 2009-03-14 08:38 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] kriadydragon.livejournal.com
Well, it started out nice enough, then... and it wasn't explicit, just kind of, well, too much, really. It's one of those things I felt the writer could have handled better, a lot better. As is, it felt out of place and like a really bad attempt at humor.

Profile

kriadydragon: (Default)
kriadydragon

July 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 10:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios