Many frustrations abroad this week. My cat, Bug - the one I raised from a two day old - has been suffering worms again. I don't know what her problem is because the other cats don't get it as bad as she does. And when she does get it, she ends up going to the bathroom on the carpet instead of in the litter (fortunately in the same spot, so it's easy to clean up). We finally got her medicine that should work, in which case she should stop going on the carpet. If not then it means Mitsy is being a bully again and chasing Bug from the "cat" room. In which case... I'm not sure. Bug is such a skittish cat when bullied. I actually have to go in the "cat" room with her just so she can eat cat food.
In turn, along with one our dog's own bathroom issues, mom has been threatening to get rid of the pets again. All talk, of course, but it's annoying. Our family is big into empty threats and, yet, at the same time get monumentally annoyed by them (they get a little tiresome after a while).
This Thursday we were hit by some massive straight-line winds. A big old gust blew across our neighborhood so strong it ripped a couple of tiles off our roof. I saw the debris outside my window and actualy panicked thinking it was a tornado. But by the time I bolted from my computer chair to head to the basement, the winds had stopped. It was eery. And kind of funny, too, because both Bug and I freaked and bolted at the same time ;). The tile thing, not so funny :(.
I've also been in a tetchy mood longer than my tetchy moods normally last. The smallest things have been setting me off, and my tolerance for certain things are at their all time low. I hate it when I get like this, but I suppose that's stating the obvious. Really, who enjoys being in sour moods?
One thing that's really been getting on my nerves are the commercials for this online dating service call Bootycall.com or something. Dumbest thing I ever saw - a dating service to find people to sleep with. Don't they already have something like that? I think it's called a bar? *Rolls eyes*. What annoys me about it, though, is the way it slams the competition. Which not only is an immature tactic (seriously, how old are the people who started this site? Ten? Twelve?), it's basically bad-mouthing marriage and people looking to get married. And that just ticks me off like you wouldn't believe.
Now for some positive. I finally got the next Dresden Files book in, plus a new Dr. Who book. This doesn't just make for good reading, it should also help provide the needed motivation to write my original story. I find that reading original stories really helps to get the creative juices flowing. Although here's hoping I don't read anything that ends up ticking me off. The tetchy mood continues to linger, so I'm feeling somewhat cautious.
In turn, along with one our dog's own bathroom issues, mom has been threatening to get rid of the pets again. All talk, of course, but it's annoying. Our family is big into empty threats and, yet, at the same time get monumentally annoyed by them (they get a little tiresome after a while).
This Thursday we were hit by some massive straight-line winds. A big old gust blew across our neighborhood so strong it ripped a couple of tiles off our roof. I saw the debris outside my window and actualy panicked thinking it was a tornado. But by the time I bolted from my computer chair to head to the basement, the winds had stopped. It was eery. And kind of funny, too, because both Bug and I freaked and bolted at the same time ;). The tile thing, not so funny :(.
I've also been in a tetchy mood longer than my tetchy moods normally last. The smallest things have been setting me off, and my tolerance for certain things are at their all time low. I hate it when I get like this, but I suppose that's stating the obvious. Really, who enjoys being in sour moods?
One thing that's really been getting on my nerves are the commercials for this online dating service call Bootycall.com or something. Dumbest thing I ever saw - a dating service to find people to sleep with. Don't they already have something like that? I think it's called a bar? *Rolls eyes*. What annoys me about it, though, is the way it slams the competition. Which not only is an immature tactic (seriously, how old are the people who started this site? Ten? Twelve?), it's basically bad-mouthing marriage and people looking to get married. And that just ticks me off like you wouldn't believe.
Now for some positive. I finally got the next Dresden Files book in, plus a new Dr. Who book. This doesn't just make for good reading, it should also help provide the needed motivation to write my original story. I find that reading original stories really helps to get the creative juices flowing. Although here's hoping I don't read anything that ends up ticking me off. The tetchy mood continues to linger, so I'm feeling somewhat cautious.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-11 06:25 am (UTC)From:Glad you didn't have to hide from a tornado, those things look REALLY scarey.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-11 06:55 am (UTC)From:I'm so glad we have a house with a basement, now. I can't say for sure if they're safer, but a heck of a lot more comfortable than a creepy, leaky cellar.
It's kind of ironic that we were damaged by straight-line winds. Our last house was nestled within a lot of trees, so we never had a problem with that kind of wind.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-11 01:49 pm (UTC)From:Anyway, all that babbling to say I know how you feel about the bad mood. Mine is improving though because we've had some 70s days lately. It's nice a couple of days, then it storms, then it's cold again. Do it all again. But it gives me hope that the cold part will quit soon, so I'm happy!! I hope you get some warmer weather soon because it really helps!!
Wish we had a basement. We lost our roof to straight line winds several years ago (at least that's what they say it was). We weren't home at the time. I came home from an out of town softball tournament to find it pouring rain and no roof on our house. I'm so glad we weren't home at the time, because that would have scared me to death. I wanted to build a basement in the new house (other was a totaled) but hubby said it was too expensive. Obviously he didn't grow up in a tornado-prone area. When it gets bad, we crouch down between the bed and the wall near the center of the house - not very safe if you ask me.
I'm definitely with you on the stupidity of those commercials. Some days you look around at stuff like that and the way some people behave and just shake your head and wonder, "What is WRONG with these people?"
Sorry to babble on like this. Not sure what got into me. Guess I'm just in a talkative mood. Maybe I'm channeling Rodney (LOL).
no subject
Date: 2009-04-11 07:54 pm (UTC)From:That's what I hate, especially when the cold tries to linger. Our storm was Thursday, and though the weather is warming up it's being incredibly slow about it. It's not bad when you're outside in the sun, but opening windows ends up making the house cold. I totally agree - warm weather = happy :D.
I've come to learn that building basements can be a hassle depending on where you live. A lot of the houses we looked at before moving into this one had basements that had a lot of issues due to the houses being built on flood plains - cracks, leaks, etc - that would have caused problems for us later on. We really are blessed to have found this house. If possible, you should talk your husband into at least building a cellar. It's better than nothing.
What really drives me up the wall with shows and commercials these days is the subtle bashing of morality - For example, there was a show I watched a while back where the episode pretty much made out like the teaching of abstinence was a terrible, terrible thing and used as a sort of villain. I know what it was the show was trying to get across, but in the end their attempt to get that message across made something that should be good into something bad.
And I don't care what people say: TV does have influence. Just look at it's treatment of sex. It pretty much supports the mindset that if you're not out there sleeping around, then there's something wrong with you. I've yet to see a show where someone says no to sex (guys epsecially) and end up being respected for it (Well, there was this one show back in the day when CBS showed good moral shows. It really was refreshing, but that's show's been off the air for a long time.)
Never feel ashamed to babble. It really helps a lot in releiving those frustrations that refuse to budge ;)
re: Bootycall.com
Date: 2009-04-12 12:37 am (UTC)From:equally annoying are the ads for
phone dates....featuring some chick sprawled on
her sofa 'talking' to some 'hot' guy she has
magically found on that 800 number to keep her company
during those long hours on Friday, or is it Saturday night???? I forget.
You mean that is the best she can hope for on a Friday
or Saturday night?
AND
I won't even go down that road about 'it could be anyone
on the other end of the phone'
I guess she hasn't found that 'bar' you spoke of either.
:P
Re: Bootycall.com
Date: 2009-04-12 01:29 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2009-04-14 08:12 pm (UTC)From:I've noticed that there is no family hour of TV anymore. There are very few shows that we watch as a family. Most of the shows at 8:00 are not suitable for younger viewers.
And commercials are now very racy. Flipping channels and your liable to hear someone curse in the promo for a show or in an ad. Very disheartening. When you become a parent, you really start to notice things that you ignored before the little ears could hear and understand what Kathy Griffin just called Joan Rivers in the promo for her show!
no subject
Date: 2009-04-14 08:41 pm (UTC)From:There really are very few family friendly shows these days. I remember a few years back when CBS was pretty family friendly with shows like Touched by an Angel and Promise Land, but even that network has gone to the darkside.
It's what I like about SGA. Except for Vegas and maybe the Tower, the show as a whole is pretty family friendly and something I'd let my neices and nephews watch without compunction (if they can handle the Harry Potter movies, they can handle Wraith ;))
Commercials, I think, are worse than some shows. The Victoria Secret commercials, for example. I had a guy friend from church over at our house helping us fix our computer. I was watching tv and a Victoria Secret commercial came on. I don't think he was paying any attention, but I was still so embarrased and couldn't flip to another channel fast enough. and it was the afternoon! they normally don't show such commercials at that time, being when they have afterschool cartoons on and such.