kriadydragon: (Shep icon)
So, I was traipsing through communities like [livejournal.com profile] metafandom, and found myself not getting monumentally, head-ache inducing infuriated!

I've been in a mood for the past couple of days. Not the "something has made me mad so now I hate the world" mood but "I'm so mad/sad/jealous/on the verge of tears and I have no idea why!" moods. It's a strange sort and frustrating state of mind to be in, because there are no specific triggers but a plethora of triggers that come out of nowhere. It's as though the brain is dead-set on being angry, or depressed, or touchy and will jump on whatever it can to enforce these moods. Suddenly, everything is personal. Suddenly, you want to cry because your cat won't stop peeing on the floor (but she finally has, thank goodness) or you want to rant and rave about how so-and-so is commenting on everyone's story except yours, or you interpret a hidden insult in everything people have to say - because your brain wants the dominant emotion to be anger and, consarnit, it will have its emotion! And no amount of positive thinking nor distraction will deter it! Maybe for a time, but it will swiftly return at the slightest provocation.

And it's made all the more worse because you know it's just you in a weird mood, yet it doesn't seem to stop. One moment, you're under the false assumption that you're better because you no longer feel like crying. The next, you get on the internet, see a request for a porn story and all you want to do is cry.

It's crazy stuff. Crazy, annoying, headache inducing stuff.

Yet, it does help to know it's just you being in a crazy mood. Because when you know it's some kind of chemical mad-house going on in your brain and not because you're an angry person in general, it makes it easier not to act on those sad/angry/jealous impulses.

And, really, that's what's important - not acting out when hit with these emotions (except crying, because that does make you feel better on occasion. Or leaves you with another headache :S) As long as I don't act (or react) then the moods are a heck of a lot easier to handle. I get mad - or sad, or envious or whatever - I have myself a little mental rant, only to realize how silly I'm being, give myself a moment to cool down and move on. The mood isn't gone but life, for the moment, is a little bit easier.

Overall, these moods aren't the end of the world, they're just frustrating (especially if I'm trying to get some writing done). All the more so when they last for days rather than a day or two. But they do go away, and life is made extra good knowing that I didn't act on these moods.

Date: 2009-08-04 04:42 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] black-raven135.livejournal.com
From what you describe, it sounds like it might be
hormone/neurotransmitter imbalance
Whatever is causing it, it certainly can be maddening........and when it is all over, there is great relief......
Sending you cyber
****HUGS*****

Date: 2009-08-04 04:58 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] kriadydragon.livejournal.com
*Hugs back*

It must be something chemical, because when it's done the things that were bugging me end up as barely even a blimp on my annoyance radar.

I've learned to put up with it, though, and can honestly say it isn't as bad as it used to be. A lot of that has to with with perspective, knowing that these moods aren't me, and to overall just not worry about them. As long as I don't act on these moods, then it's not a big deal.

Date: 2009-08-04 07:13 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] black-raven135.livejournal.com
"As long as I don't act on these moods....."

Yes that is the key.......riding it out

Date: 2009-08-04 06:23 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] x-erikah-x.livejournal.com
That sounds like me on PMS. I know how it is. Too damn well.

*hugs*

Date: 2009-08-04 09:04 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] kriadydragon.livejournal.com
I dread it so:P There are times when it's mediocre, and times when it's something fierce and lasts for what feels like forever :S

Date: 2009-08-08 01:15 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] flingslass.livejournal.com
Hormones! Gotta love them (because we need them :D) but they're a pain in the Khyber :( (Translation: Khyber is short for Khyber Pass and Pass rhymes with A***)

Date: 2009-08-09 01:00 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] kriadydragon.livejournal.com
I'm starting to wonder if this is less about hormones and more about being jaded to having so many family members visit for most of the summer.

Profile

kriadydragon: (Default)
kriadydragon

July 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios