Yeah, I know, according to the time I'm a little late with this but who really cares.
Now that we're finally back to living in a neighborhood, with actual neighbors, we got to do the handing out candy and decorating thing. I must say, I missed it. I always loved decorating for Halloween, but our old neighborhood and the location of our house wasn't really a sweet spot for Halloween fun. We never got trick or treaters, so I saw no point in decorating.
But now I get to decorate, and use all those Halloween decorations collected over the years :D Like my skeleton and cat and raven that squawks at people unexpectedly (yet never when you want him to).
And the kids... Oh my gosh, kids on Halloween are so dang cute. And polite. And I love it when they ham it up. We had this one group with a boy dressed as Micheal Jackson who did a perfect little MJ spin for us, and another boy dressed as Mario from Mario Brothers who did the accent and everything. It was so funny. Two boys in another group came dressed as escaped zombie convicts. Bwah! The younger kids were so adorable! This one really little boy, dressed as a dinosaur I think, was across the street. His parents were trying to take his picture, but he was more interested in petting our cat Calvin who is a very friendly cat.
To spice things up, I wore my monsters gloves that I would slip through the door before opening it all the way. It actually scared a few people :D And the night was perfect, clear, cool but not cold.
I think this was the first time in all the years we've handed out candy that we had to turn out the porch light because we ran out - two heaping bags of candy and we ran out. We even had to use the stash we tried to save for ourselves.
All in all, it was a lot of fun, and I hope next year is as nice a day and numerous in trick or treaters because I have some ideas.
Now that we're finally back to living in a neighborhood, with actual neighbors, we got to do the handing out candy and decorating thing. I must say, I missed it. I always loved decorating for Halloween, but our old neighborhood and the location of our house wasn't really a sweet spot for Halloween fun. We never got trick or treaters, so I saw no point in decorating.
But now I get to decorate, and use all those Halloween decorations collected over the years :D Like my skeleton and cat and raven that squawks at people unexpectedly (yet never when you want him to).
And the kids... Oh my gosh, kids on Halloween are so dang cute. And polite. And I love it when they ham it up. We had this one group with a boy dressed as Micheal Jackson who did a perfect little MJ spin for us, and another boy dressed as Mario from Mario Brothers who did the accent and everything. It was so funny. Two boys in another group came dressed as escaped zombie convicts. Bwah! The younger kids were so adorable! This one really little boy, dressed as a dinosaur I think, was across the street. His parents were trying to take his picture, but he was more interested in petting our cat Calvin who is a very friendly cat.
To spice things up, I wore my monsters gloves that I would slip through the door before opening it all the way. It actually scared a few people :D And the night was perfect, clear, cool but not cold.
I think this was the first time in all the years we've handed out candy that we had to turn out the porch light because we ran out - two heaping bags of candy and we ran out. We even had to use the stash we tried to save for ourselves.
All in all, it was a lot of fun, and I hope next year is as nice a day and numerous in trick or treaters because I have some ideas.
no subject
Date: 2009-11-01 07:34 pm (UTC)From:LOL
Last night the streets looked like Night of the Living Dead
as I drove home from church......
When I was a kid, Mom used to fix elaborate stuff to give to the kids.....e.g. candied apples and popcorn balls and forget what else. The kids loved it all.
But that was when you just went up and down your street, not to every house within five mile radius.......now too many weird people who you cannot trust.
Halloween reminds me also of one when she was visiting me during spook season. At the time I was renting first floor of a lovely old restored home....I had the first floor which had a marvelous HUGE kitchen. She told me she was going to bake cupcakes for me to take to my duty section. I said "no" but she didn't understand what that word meant and later had produced THREE dozen, to this day I don't believe I got them to work without a disaster, fancy cupcakes......
They were fudge cake and frosting and on top those icky little candy corn and pumpkins
>:-/
The watch LOVED them........and her for the effort.
The following watch cycle my friend Leslie, the only other female watch officer, came into the message center office to relieve me and she said: "It has only been 10 minutes since I arrived and already my watch is whining about cupcakes and 'we didn't get any cupcakes from our watch officer.'
I think of that little scenario every Halloween.
no subject
Date: 2009-11-08 06:40 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2009-11-08 06:52 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2009-11-08 07:44 am (UTC)From:Oh well Sticky is racing on Tuesday night so she might get me my money back :D (Sticky is her stable name - her mother's racing name was Velcro - hence Sticky!) Oh and Sticky is a Standardbred (http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.tabcorppark.com.au/web_images/pageImages/A_Field3.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.tabcorppark.com.au/index.php%3FsectionID%3D5014%26pageID%3D8008&usg=__qWoxzbDHvpFgU-UHwnHBVboheUA=&h=306&w=580&sz=176&hl=en&start=70&sig2=Tm_gukwU8cmfXyVgiTTGCQ&um=1&tbnid=dka6tSuTrMFKoM:&tbnh=71&tbnw=134&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dstandardbred%2Bhorses%2Baustralia%26ndsp%3D20%26hl%3Den%26cr%3DcountryAU%26sa%3DN%26start%3D60%26um%3D1&ei=l3b2SsrKIceYkQX3mMi8Aw) and The Cup is for Thoroughbreds so there won't be a Sticky in The Cup :D