I did a Suits Marathon for the recent season this week. I'm glad I waited for all the eps to be DVR'd because, wow, that was intense. Crazy, crazy stuff. I was quite surprised, really, as I went in expecting to hate this season considering how last season ended, and what with Mike and Rachel getting together only to end it. But I really, really liked it. We got to see Mike be an awesome, competent lawyer and Harvey as a human being you just want to hug. We actually got some Mike and Harvey bonding! Yes, it was while they were high but, still, it was pretty dang funny and Mike now knows about the can-opener tradition, and we now know thumbtacks are also involved ;)
I also like how this show makes you want to hug everyone and slap everyone at the same time. Even Louis, who I felt bad for and am starting to like despite the fact that he is still very much a jerk (I really liked him and Rachel working together on the Ballet thing. That was cute). These people are very much human and I think this season really showed that well.
But, the thing is... as much as I want to love this show, as much as it does sometimes push my want buttons, it still manages to push a lot of my "do not wants!". The thing is, I liked Rachel this season, I really did but... sometimes I kind of wish she wasn't there because the whole thing the show has going between her and Mike is irritating. It's basically a sum-up of why I'm not a fan of romance, because too many times shows and novels use romance to create these dramatic complications that mostly make you want to tear your hair out. And now Suits has gone and pushed my ultimate "do not want" and had Mike sleep with a married woman... after Harvey had told him about how his mom had cheated on his dad! I like Mike, I do, and I know he was grieving but... really? I was so proud of him when he had turned Tess down after she told him to the truth and now...
Oh, show, why do you do this to me?
I think if the show would allow itself to either let Mike and Rachel get together or just back off and let them be friends, I would love this show to bits. But I know they won't, so I try to mostly settle for pretending the romantic Mike and Rachel bits (not the Mike and Rachel friendship bits) don't exist. In fact, I fast-forward them, because I don't think I would be able to watch this show otherwise.
I also like how this show makes you want to hug everyone and slap everyone at the same time. Even Louis, who I felt bad for and am starting to like despite the fact that he is still very much a jerk (I really liked him and Rachel working together on the Ballet thing. That was cute). These people are very much human and I think this season really showed that well.
But, the thing is... as much as I want to love this show, as much as it does sometimes push my want buttons, it still manages to push a lot of my "do not wants!". The thing is, I liked Rachel this season, I really did but... sometimes I kind of wish she wasn't there because the whole thing the show has going between her and Mike is irritating. It's basically a sum-up of why I'm not a fan of romance, because too many times shows and novels use romance to create these dramatic complications that mostly make you want to tear your hair out. And now Suits has gone and pushed my ultimate "do not want" and had Mike sleep with a married woman... after Harvey had told him about how his mom had cheated on his dad! I like Mike, I do, and I know he was grieving but... really? I was so proud of him when he had turned Tess down after she told him to the truth and now...
Oh, show, why do you do this to me?
I think if the show would allow itself to either let Mike and Rachel get together or just back off and let them be friends, I would love this show to bits. But I know they won't, so I try to mostly settle for pretending the romantic Mike and Rachel bits (not the Mike and Rachel friendship bits) don't exist. In fact, I fast-forward them, because I don't think I would be able to watch this show otherwise.
no subject
Date: 2012-09-23 04:35 am (UTC)From:But like you said, there have been many things which I didnt like.. They just brought the new girl, married too, in the last episode...now the beginning of next season would be the angst, love triangle between them...
And Louis..Hardman made him the senior partner...but with Hardman gone...I am not sure whose side will he be on...His is a very confusing character...sometimes love him..and sometimes hate him...
no subject
Date: 2012-09-25 03:39 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-09-23 07:30 am (UTC)From:I was also very disappointed how the Donna-Storyline played out. It's a good thing I love her character so much, because as great as the scene was, I really wanted to smack her when she did his triumphant walk. What the hell did she have to be triumphant about, she put Harvey in deep shit, and she didn't even apologize to him for it! If you tear down a character like her, you better allow her to learn something from the experience that she might not be perfect after all. This solution was just awful!
Speaking of solutions: Harvey and Mike were really slow this time around, weren't they? I called what Hardman did early on, because how likely was it that Tanner would stumble over a document which supposedly didn't exist in the first place, and which Donna of all people apperently overlooked, and that shortly after Hardman turned up again?
By the way, his actor did his job way too good, so good that I wish they had chosen someone else for the role. I wanted to clean myself everytime he turned up on screen.
no subject
Date: 2012-09-25 03:38 am (UTC)From:I don't think I paid too much attention to the whole Tanner and document deal because I hadn't considered it to be a possible plant by Hardman until Harvey realized it. I thought it was all Tanner and him trying to one up Harvey once again.
no subject
Date: 2012-09-26 01:49 pm (UTC)From:I was quite proud of Mike for pushing the other girl away at first, but I do understand why he called her (though I'm not a fan of it and I wish they'd found another way). He's not only grieving, he has no one else. The best friend and girlfriend are gone. Grandma is gone. No parents. Harvey certainly isn't the one to offer a comforting hug. He'd reached out to Rachel and she had (rightly) pushed him away because he wasn't thinking clearly. He made one more bad choice in a LONG line of bad choices.
Honestly, I was more put off by all the pot smoking. I understand why Mike would turn to it, but when Harvey joined in and then joked about it with his boss who also admitted to "partying"... Well, let's just say disappointment was flowing freely.
But it was a terrific season and I'm really looking forward to the next one.
no subject
Date: 2012-09-26 09:02 pm (UTC)From:Yeah about the pot smoking thing. The first time we see them bond outside of work and it's over pot. What followed was hilarious but, yes, why did it have to be pot?
Still, all the above aside, it was a really good season, one that managed to really surprise me. I loved how we got to see them at both their best and their worst, and how they all came across as human beings that are fallible and have limits and don't always win, yet they still managed to come out on top.