Is anyone else watching Elementary? I'm really loving this show. Quirky character, snark, orneriness... what's not to love :D It's become one of those rare shows I can't wait to watch.
I'm watching it! Haven't seen tonight's episode yet, but it's a pretty decent show. It's up there on the list, but Person of Interest continues to eat my brain the most. :)Sherlock is definitely that perfect level of quirky, though, and I didn't think I was going to like Watson, as I'm neither a Lucy Liu fan or big on the idea of Watson being female, but it works surprisingly well the way the show's handling it. Now if I can just get caught up on that and all my other shows. Too much time spent writing lately, and more to come with the POI holiday exchange now, not that that's a bad thing. Anyway, I digress. :)
Yeah, I was a little iffy about Watson being female but I'm really liking the dynamic. She gets Sherlock enough to know when to go with the flow as well as know when to try and keep him in line.
I'm still working my way into Person's of Interest. I do like the show and the characters but it's one of those shows that, for some reason, I'm having a hard time really getting into (although I'm starting to suspect that the more intense a show is the harder it is for me to get into them, and POI is a lot more intense than Elementary).
I was sort of skeptical at first, but if you keep in mind that this is a re-imagination of the original Sherlock Holmes characters, and not just an Americanization of the BBC's Sherlock, it's really enjoyable.
Yeah, I was very wary of it being an Americanized BBC Sherlock knock-off but it's very much it's own rendition, IMO, and I'm loving both shows equally (that is, when I can watch the BBC version. I'm forever missing it because I never know when it's coming back on).
I'm trying to watch it. But, I have interruptions and I'm also moving... But, it is interesting! The actor that is playing Holmes was in Eli Stone. A show I loved, but was cancelled after the strike...actors, writers, etc...
I thought the actor looked familiar! I really enjoyed ES up until this one episode that kind of rubbed me the wrong way. But before that episode it was a really good show.
I haven't seen Arrow, yet, but I've heard good things about it. I need to get around to finally DVRing the thing. I don't watch as much TV as I used to so often forget that there are shows I need to DVR.
Ooo, you're liking it? I haven't caught more than a few snippets in passing yet. I'm a huge Sherlock Holmes fan, but I've been kinda... dubious regarding Elementary, for a number of reasons. Female Watson, actor for Holmes (who I've liked in other things, but who just does not look like Holmes), setting in America (which seemed likely to take away too much of the atmosphere of it all)...
But. I'm starting to think that I'm gonna have to break down and give it a real chance at some point, here.
Yeah, I was wary as well for the exact same reasons only to end up being pleasantly surprised. It has the Sherlock Holmes feel while also being it's own rendition (that is, it's not a knock off of the movies nor the BBC version, but it's still Sherlock Holmes) and that it's set in America hasn't affected that feel at all.
That's definitely good to hear! I'm always up for a good new version of Sherlock Holmes, but I really wasn't up for a show that'd just wind up aggravating me to no end. XD I'll have to see if I can catch an episode coming up, here!
I tried the pilot, but I didn't even made it till the end, because it was so unbelievable boring and predictable. I have a couple of issues with this show:
1. Female Watson...not the fact that she is female or the actress, but the fact that a female Watson naturally can't be an ex-soldier, she has to be in some sort of caring role, and naturally she has some sort of contrived trauma she has to deal with (basically because she was incompetent????). I hate the "insuffarable genius/caring woman" dynamic. It's not a deal-breaker, but a show has to offer me something to overlook it. And this particular character pushes all my annoyance button. Especially when in the pilot, she looks away from the crime scene because, hey she is a woman. A woman who used to be a trauma surgeon, but who cares. (The whole case would have been more interesting if it had been a male victim who did all the surgeries, but nooooo, naturally only a woman would do this).
2. The character of Sherlock always had something insuffarable about it, but I never saw him as a spoiled child who would whine because his father only gave him the smallest house in New York. I always saw this character as someone independent, self-suffient, not as someone who would be forced to rely on his parents. Plus I expect Sherlock to point out things which are impressive, not so painfully obvious that the police should realize it immediatly.
3. Basically, I don't see Sherlock and Watson in those characters (no do I see any chemistry whatsoever between them). It's just another Genius/Sidekick pairing, and compared to half a dozend shows out there, not even a particular good one. I guess, Crime Show fans can get something out of it, but I'm not really one, so there is nothing for me there.
4. On top of that: I have trouble to understand the actors! I though Leverage was bad, but this show is even worse. Which is strange, because normally I understand a posh British accent better than an american one, but in this case, it's very tiring to decipher what is said on screen.
But above all: To BBC's "Sherlock", Elementary can't compare. It's a way better translation of Sherlock Holmes into modern times (for starters it actually is a translation instead of two characters with totally different backstories who just happen to have the same names), it uses London way better than Elementary uses New York (The producer should watch a couple White Collar episodes and take notes), it is actually based on the canon stories instead of inventing new ones, it is better shot, better acted (LL is okay, Martin Freeman is definitly better), has a better score - so why should I waste my time with Elementary?
Well, I might have liked it, too, if the characters weren't named Holmes and Watson, and if they started the show seven to ten years ago, before I got tired of the "insufferable Genius with understanding sidekick" dynamic. But after House, Monk, Psych (to a lesser degree) and The Mentalist (and those are only the shows with the theme I actually watched for at least a while, there is also "Bones", "Unforgettable" aso), I'm not really in the mood for yet another show like that...I'm more on the outlook for something new, which is the reason I latched on Grimm so fast, even though the first episodes were fairly medicore until the show got really good.
no subject
Date: 2012-11-02 04:55 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-02 06:34 pm (UTC)From:I'm still working my way into Person's of Interest. I do like the show and the characters but it's one of those shows that, for some reason, I'm having a hard time really getting into (although I'm starting to suspect that the more intense a show is the harder it is for me to get into them, and POI is a lot more intense than Elementary).
no subject
Date: 2012-11-02 06:16 am (UTC)From:I was sort of skeptical at first, but if you keep in mind that this is a re-imagination of the original Sherlock Holmes characters, and not just an Americanization of the BBC's Sherlock, it's really enjoyable.
no subject
Date: 2012-11-02 06:39 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-02 07:37 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-02 06:41 pm (UTC)From:Elementary
Date: 2012-11-02 03:04 pm (UTC)From: (Anonymous)Re: Elementary
Date: 2012-11-02 06:42 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-03 05:08 pm (UTC)From:But. I'm starting to think that I'm gonna have to break down and give it a real chance at some point, here.
no subject
Date: 2012-11-03 06:10 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-04 03:11 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-05 12:41 pm (UTC)From:1. Female Watson...not the fact that she is female or the actress, but the fact that a female Watson naturally can't be an ex-soldier, she has to be in some sort of caring role, and naturally she has some sort of contrived trauma she has to deal with (basically because she was incompetent????). I hate the "insuffarable genius/caring woman" dynamic. It's not a deal-breaker, but a show has to offer me something to overlook it. And this particular character pushes all my annoyance button. Especially when in the pilot, she looks away from the crime scene because, hey she is a woman. A woman who used to be a trauma surgeon, but who cares. (The whole case would have been more interesting if it had been a male victim who did all the surgeries, but nooooo, naturally only a woman would do this).
2. The character of Sherlock always had something insuffarable about it, but I never saw him as a spoiled child who would whine because his father only gave him the smallest house in New York. I always saw this character as someone independent, self-suffient, not as someone who would be forced to rely on his parents. Plus I expect Sherlock to point out things which are impressive, not so painfully obvious that the police should realize it immediatly.
3. Basically, I don't see Sherlock and Watson in those characters (no do I see any chemistry whatsoever between them). It's just another Genius/Sidekick pairing, and compared to half a dozend shows out there, not even a particular good one. I guess, Crime Show fans can get something out of it, but I'm not really one, so there is nothing for me there.
4. On top of that: I have trouble to understand the actors! I though Leverage was bad, but this show is even worse. Which is strange, because normally I understand a posh British accent better than an american one, but in this case, it's very tiring to decipher what is said on screen.
But above all: To BBC's "Sherlock", Elementary can't compare. It's a way better translation of Sherlock Holmes into modern times (for starters it actually is a translation instead of two characters with totally different backstories who just happen to have the same names), it uses London way better than Elementary uses New York (The producer should watch a couple White Collar episodes and take notes), it is actually based on the canon stories instead of inventing new ones, it is better shot, better acted (LL is okay, Martin Freeman is definitly better), has a better score - so why should I waste my time with Elementary?
no subject
Date: 2012-11-05 07:40 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-07 12:36 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2012-11-06 02:38 pm (UTC)From: