I know I've said it before but I'll say it again, but it's funny how some stories come to you fully formed and wanting to be written neow! While others drag their feet incessantly and take months - but mostly years - to come together, and when you're ready to write them they drag their feet even more and refuse to let you come up with an ending.
But maybe it's a matter of tackling the story notes while the idea is fresh, instead of letting it simmer? I don't know. All I know is that my current idea is being incredibly kind to me (I blame it on The Tempest. It's being abad good influence on the plot bunnies *shakes fists at then hugs Colin M and Ben W for getting me interested in The Tempest in the first place* Also, my plot bunnies seem to love everything Colin is in. That kid's work is a gold mine of ideas, or maybe it's just Colin himself. It's crazy). But we'll soon see if Current Idea isn't just stringing me along as other Current Ideas have in the past. But I'm bound and determined to have something ready to write by November, and since Other Current Idea is being a snail that decided to take a nap, I'll take what I can get. The more ideas ready the merrier, anyway.
Also, how is everyone? Writing going good? Life going good? Discover any new shows that have captured your fancy? I'm loving Sleepy Hollow myself. I was a little iffy about it when I first saw the previews but I love the teamwork going on and adore how snarky Ichabod can be. But between plotting Current Idea and getting my finished story ready for publishing, I'm a bit behind on shows. I only just now saw the premiere of Elementary and haven't watched the new ep of White Collar, so please no spoilers. Sleepy Hollow I'm all caught up on so go nuts with that :D I'd also ask that when talking about show to stick with the squee.
And finally, the new Doctor Who special! Eeeeeeeee! With Ten! Double Eeeeeeeeeeeeee! And John Hurt! Triple Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! I love John hurt. Man, it feels like forever since I felt like squeeing about anything. Not because there wasn't anything to squee about, just that for a while I wasn't in a squeeing frame of mind.
But maybe it's a matter of tackling the story notes while the idea is fresh, instead of letting it simmer? I don't know. All I know is that my current idea is being incredibly kind to me (I blame it on The Tempest. It's being a
Also, how is everyone? Writing going good? Life going good? Discover any new shows that have captured your fancy? I'm loving Sleepy Hollow myself. I was a little iffy about it when I first saw the previews but I love the teamwork going on and adore how snarky Ichabod can be. But between plotting Current Idea and getting my finished story ready for publishing, I'm a bit behind on shows. I only just now saw the premiere of Elementary and haven't watched the new ep of White Collar, so please no spoilers. Sleepy Hollow I'm all caught up on so go nuts with that :D I'd also ask that when talking about show to stick with the squee.
And finally, the new Doctor Who special! Eeeeeeeee! With Ten! Double Eeeeeeeeeeeeee! And John Hurt! Triple Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! I love John hurt. Man, it feels like forever since I felt like squeeing about anything. Not because there wasn't anything to squee about, just that for a while I wasn't in a squeeing frame of mind.
no subject
Date: 2013-10-20 12:46 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2013-10-20 05:28 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2013-10-20 02:45 am (UTC)From:My current book has really been simmering for years - I've taken notes, and sketched ideas, and written snippets here and there, but always what I had just didn't seem like enough to push ahead, even though the world itself was becoming very developed in my mind. Just recently, though, I finally got that extra push, that something I needed to grab onto for the start - in a quite different place from where I'd intended to - and I am really liking how it's going.
So... I'd say sometimes it pays to listen to your instincts?
Hehe, as far as new shows go... I almost hate to say it, but my family's recently started watching Duck Dynasty. I'm not a fan of reality television in general, and the show's rather sillier than I tend to like in my entertainment, and yet... there's something terribly endearing to it as well. *g*
no subject
Date: 2013-10-20 05:33 am (UTC)From:This is why I'm rather wary about stories that come together so quickly and that I want to write right away. I've jumped into stories thinking they were ready only to find out the hard way that they weren't :/ And once bitten twice shy and all that.
On the other hand... it works for fanfic, dang it! So why not original fic. Also on the other hand, it hasn't been often I've jumped on new story ideas, since my usual method has been to let a story sit for a bit. But since I'm getting tired of having all these ideas and few stories written, I'm going to give the current idea a go. It's almost ready except for the outline.
Heh, my sister in law love Duck Dynasty. It is a very amusing show :D
no subject
Date: 2013-10-23 03:51 pm (UTC)From:I am already in full-on fangirling mode over Sleepy Hollow and I'm only a couple of episodes in! :D
Third episode airs in the UK tonight but the fannishness has hit me hard in the past couple of days and I've ended up sneakily watching the third ep online this afternoon. :)
I am loving it. Love Ichabod. Sexy. A bit angsty. A bit lost. A bit snarky. How could I not love this man? :D Great chemistry with Abbie too and I love the fantasy/spooky genre of the show. What we need now is some really kick-ass Ichabod whump. :D
no subject
Date: 2013-10-23 10:49 pm (UTC)From:And, yes, we need more Ichabod whump. Lots and lots of Ichabod whump ;)
no subject
Date: 2013-10-23 10:53 pm (UTC)From:Oh and Sherlock of course. When - when, damn you BBC?!! - that comes back for Season 3, I will be in full-on fangirly squee mode. :D
We sooooo need some really good Ichabod whump. Have you seen the trailer for episode 6? Looks to be at least a teensy bit of whump in there. :)
I'm seriously needing to write Ichabod whump fic. I just need to find the time!!
no subject
Date: 2013-10-23 04:20 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2013-10-23 10:50 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2013-10-23 10:55 pm (UTC)From:It's mildly Ichabod-whumpy.. and very much self-sacrificing Ichabod, which is awesome. Plus shirtless Ichabod.. and really, who could ask for more? :D
no subject
Date: 2013-10-23 10:56 pm (UTC)From: